July, 2016

2016 CATA Awards Winners

The Annual Gatorade Banquet at this years’ 50th CATA National Conference was another huge success. The event took place at the Pinnacle Harbourfront Hotel, in Vancouver, British Columbia on Friday, May 27th. Many Association members were honored throughout the evening for their outstanding efforts and accomplishments as athletic therapists. The Canadian Athletic Therapists Association (CATA) would like to congratulate the following award winners:

Outgoing CATA President - Dale Pitura

Hall of Fame Award - James Laws, Elsa Orecchio, Ivan Gutfriend

Special Recognition Award - Andrew Laskoski

Distinguished Athletic Therapy Educator Award - Noreen Ortilla

Member Emeritus Award - David Ross, Lori Abbate-Copeland, Joseph Piccininni

Merit Award - Dylan Durwood, Josee Ostrosser, Kelsey Gillette, Michael Elchuk

Outstanding Supervisory Athletic Therapist Award - Mina Fadol

Research Foundation Grant - Alison Longo

Writing Award (Certified Athletic Therapist Research Category) - Dr. Jason Mihalik

Writing Award (Certification Candidate Review Category) - Stephanie Loy Son

Larry Ashley Memorial Scholarship Award - Katelynn Watts

CATA Annual Scholarship - Cassandra Arnel

CATA Student Leadership Award (Sheridan College) - Victor Lanzillotta

CATA Student Leadership Award (York University) - George Grammenopoulos

CATA Student Leadership Award (Camosun College) - Monika Allen

CATA Student Leadership Award (University of Manitoba) - Sarah Bohunicky

CATA Student Leadership Award (Concordia University) - Tania Rebuli

CATA Student Leadership Award (Mount Royal) - Elena Koskinas

CATA Student Leadership Award (University of Winnipeg) - Mallory Black

Volunteer Appreciation Gifts were awarded to members who completed their term and service to committees of the CATA. Association members completed their full term will receive a piece of artwork of their choice from Kish Studios. Recognized members included:

Canadian Board ofCertification for Athletic Therapy

Jacqueline Vandertuin

Marianna Varpalotai

Jacqueline Camley

Linda Daniel

Andrea Wazney

Jason White

Caitlin Campbell

Education and Research

Jacqueline Vandertuin

Richard DeMont

Ethics Committee

Annette McClelland

David Blatz

Paul Hrynkow

Melanie Lund

Chad Newhook

Education Committee

Jennifer Gow

Dennis Valdez

Jennifer Ball

Kelly Stott

International Relations Committee

Connie Klassen

Dexter Nelson

Marketing, Sponsorship and Insurance Committee

Erin MacLean

Jessica Price

Daniele Gervais

Carmen Chan

Financial Advisory Committee

Andrea Prieur

Executive Member

Jason Mihalik

Richard DeMont

Darryl Thorvaldson

Michele Amantea

Program Accreditation Committee

Mark Lafave

High Performance Provider Committee

Isabel Grondin

The CATA would like to recognize members who have been certified for 25 years. Receiving Long Time Member Recognition this year:

John Boulay

David Paris

Dave Wright

Tara Sutherland

Rick Schaly

Dawn Patterson

Mary Turner

Jane Stark

Kathleen Harvie

Glen Parsons

Richard Obermayer

Jennifer Harrison

Chris Jackson

Paul Evans

The Awards Banquet was an unforgettable celebration of the outstanding efforts and contributions by CATA members to the profession of Athletic Therapy. This incredible evening could not have been possible without the help of several important people and organizations. The CATA would like to thank David Paris, Master of Ceremonies for the evening, Coralee Dolyniuk, Project Coordinator at Strauss Event & Association Management, and all of our Official Sponsors:

- Gatorade

- KineMedics

- Diamond Athletic Medical Supplies

- DJO Global

- Professional Orthopedic Products  

- Trainers Choice

- Vancouver Canucks Alumni

- Human Kinetics

- Core Strength1

- Medelco Inc.

We would also like to thank Kirk McLean from the Vancouver Canucks Alumni for attending the awards banquet to present the Larry Ashley Memorial Scholarship Award.

The celebration of our growing profession and the recognition of our outstanding members cannot happen without your nominations and applications for these awards. Please take some time to become familiar with the association awards qualifications and consider whether you or someone you know might be deserving of an award.

Association awards are presented annually. Applications/nomination forms must be completed in full and submitted online before February 15th of each year. Merit Award nominations are accepted throughout the year. Awards information and applications can be found in the members’ portal.

If you have any questions about the Annual Awards process, please see the Awards section of the website (https://athletictherapy.org/en-members/member-resources-programs/awards-program/overview-of-awards/) or email Kylie Farmer (awards@athletictherapy.org).

Once again, congratulations to all of this year’s winners and volunteers!

Printer Friendly Version

Back to news page